National Film Awards announces Akshay is best actor, Surabhi Lakshmi is best actress

Bollywood actor Akshay Kumar has won the Best Actor award for the film ‘Rustom’ while Malyalam film actress Surabhi Lakshmi won the Best Actress award for her performance in ‘Minnaminugu’ at the 64th National Film Awards.

Surabhi bagged the Best Actress Award for her portrayal of the “pain and ecstasy of a mother in a deplorable social condition” in ‘Minnaminugu’, according to the Chairman and Members of the Jury for 64th National Film Awards .

In other wins for Bollywood, ‘Dangal’ actress Zaira Waseem won the Best Supporting Actress award for her performance in the film while the Amitabh Bachchan starrer ‘Pink’ won the award for Best film on social issues.

The award for Best Director was won by Rajesh for the film ‘Ventilator’.

The award for Best Child Artist was shared by Adhish Praveen for the film ‘Kunju Daivam’, Saj for ‘Noor Islam’ and Manohara for the film ‘Railway Children’.

The award for Best Male Playback Singer went to Sundara Iyer for the film ‘Joker’ while the award for Best Female Playback Singer went to ‘Thume jaake’.

The Sonam Kapoor-starrer ‘Neerja’ won the award for Best Hindi film while the award for Best Children’s Film went to ‘Dhanak’ directed by Nagesh Kukunoor.

The award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment went to ‘Sathamanam Bhavathi’ .

The award for Best stunt choreography went to Peter Hein for the Malayalam film ‘Pulimurugan’ while the award for Best Environmental film, including agriculture, was won by ‘The Tiger who crossed the line’.

The award for Best Screenplay (original) went to Syam Pushkaran for the film ‘Maheshinte Prathikaram’ while that for Best Screenplay (adapted) went to Sanjay Krishnaji patel for ‘Dashakriya’ and that for Best Editing went to ‘Rameshwar’ for the film ‘Ventilator’.

The Best Sound designer award went to Jayadevan for ‘Kaadu Pookunna Neram’ while the award for Best production design went to ’24’.

In the language category, Best Marathi film was won by ‘Dashakriya’ , Best Kannada Film award went to ‘Reservation’ and Best Bengali Film to ‘ Bisarjan’.

The Best Marathi film award went to ‘Dashakriya’.

The Best Non-Feature film award went to Malayalam documentary ‘Chembai: My Discovery of a Legend’ while the award for Most film-friendly state went to Uttar Pradesh.

The award for Best writing on Films went to G.Dhananjayan.

Eminent film director, producer, and screenwriter Priyadarshan is the Jury Chairperson in Feature Films category, nationally acclaimed cinematographer and a writer Raju Misra is the Jury Chairperson in Non-Feature category.

Eminent film critic Bhawana Somaaya is the Jury Chairperson in Writing while Film Director Radha Krishna Jagarlamudi is the Jury Member for Film Friendly Award category.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *